Runaway Tractor (not runaway diesel)

Kamaluhiafarm

Equipment
BX2680, 54"MMM, LA344S Loader, Woodland Mills chipper
Mar 24, 2021
Kealakekua, HI
BX2680 with mid mower. My property is fairly steep, requires 4WD tractor, hasn’t been an issue until few days ago. Driving downhill, it was as if the transmission was disconnected, and the tractor just free wheeled down this steep hill, brake did nothing either; I was along for a sled ride that was more exciting than I cared.

I’m new to tractor owner/operator, there’s always the possibility of pilot error. I’m not doing anything different than I have been doing, what might cause this runaway behavior?

Treckerzeug

Equipment
Carraro tgf 7800 taijfun 4,5 t winch, trailer with crane, double bl saw
Apr 17, 2015
Bavaria South Germany
Hello,

If the 4wd was disengaged, the rear tyres have not much weight, so no adherence, no braking force to be transmitted as the rear wheels are just hopping without resistance,
I would recommend to check if the 4wd lever is on engaged or on released...
Take care, goid luck!

TX Chris

Lifetime Member

Equipment
MX5400, BH92, RTV900, ZD326
Dec 14, 2020
Rowlett, TX
Do you know if the rear tires were skidding (locked up) with no traction or were you just free-wheeling down the hill with no resistence from the brakes or transmission? Two very different issues depending on which it was.

Kamaluhiafarm

Equipment
Mar 24, 2021
Kealakekua, HI
Nailed it! I had not changed the front drive lever yet it was disengaged. Consistent with your diagnosis, there are skid marks down the hill, assuming from rear wheels.

Rear tires are filled with water, and 300lb ballast box on rear, I would have thought there was enough rear weight. Surprising that front drive would have that large an impact on braking, also consistent with climbing uphill felt it slip.

Adding “front drive - engaged“ to my pre-start checklist, thank you for your help.

Kamaluhiafarm

Equipment
Mar 24, 2021
Kealakekua, HI