Tilt trailer malfunction

Tallahassee Kubota Man

Equipment
M5140HD/LA1153/LandPride RCF2072/DirtDog disc/RakeMaster grapple/Caroni tiller
I recently purchased a sweet new M5140 w/fel, LandPride mower and Big Tex 14FT 20' gravity tilt trailer.

Trailer tows great, but has a problem with the hydraulics. When getting ready to load the tractor and releasing the lock levers, I have to walk to the back of the bed to lower it. That's not a problem. But, when you step off the trailer to get on the tractor and load it, the bed starts back up. Unless you jump on the tractor quickly, the bed is too high to pull onto it.

I'm new to tilts, but it seems to me the hydraulic cylinder should only cushion the movement and not push or pull it, just like a shock absorber on a vehicle.

Anyone have experience with these type trailers?

Last edited:

coachgeo

Equipment
L225 w/woods Few Mowers & Back Blade, D722 in Motorcycle (Triumph Tiger), LMTV
Nov 16, 2012
Southern OH
I recently purchased a sweet new M5140 w/fel, LandPride mower and Big Tex 14FT 20' gravity tilt trailer.

Trailer tows great, but has a problem with the hydraulics. When getting ready to load the tractor and releasing the lock levers, I have to walk to the back of the bed to lower it. That's not a problem. But, when you step off the trailer to get on the tractor and load it, the bed starts back up. Unless you jump on the tractor quickly, the bed is too high to pull onto it.

I'm new to tilts, but it seems to me the hydraulic cylinder should only cushion the movement and not push or pull it, just like a shock absorber on a vehicle.

Anyone have experience with these type trailers?
Im assuming your speaking of it not staying tilted to the ground when mounted on your tow rig. When not mounted no issue. Just raise the front of the trailer higher.

Is there a down grade where your trying this? (ground at trailer wheels higher than ground at tilt end of trailer