Something keeps killing my battery!

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va
I have a Kubota B6100E and something keeps killing my battery. I went to the dealer and asked the shop foreman what it could be and he told me he has never heard of a tractor doing what mine does. I can put on a brand new battery, charge one or jump start it off my truck and the tractor will start and run, but as soon as I shut the tractor down it will not restart. The dealer seems to think its either the dynamo or a short in the wireing. I would like some insight as to how bad changing a dynamo could be. I am not a mechanic by any means but I'm not scared to take a wrench and figure things out for myself. I do ok with mechanical problems but electrical and wireing is not my area. Any info would be a huge help. Thanks!!

ipz2222

Equipment
L235, bx2670
May 30, 2009
chickamauga ga usa
If you have a fully charged battery and run the tractor for 2 or 3 minutes, shut it off and it won't start, the problem is not the battery being drained. You have a connection problem. Take all the batt cables loose and clean them, both ends, at the batt and the other ends.

koppel

Dec 15, 2009
Melbourne,Australia
Hi there,

I agree it sounds like a lead problem.

Sort of when you put the jumper leads on they compress a little the batter terminals.

You have a few choices

1. best option is to go and buy 2 new battery leads and replace the old ones.

these are available from most speed or car barn shop as just a generic set.

2. you could equally remove your existing leads and using a file clean the internal connections of ends going onto battery.

check carefully the lugs to leads as you could have corrosion here leading to a high resistance joint.

hope that helps so far

Eric McCarthy

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Kubota B6100E
Dec 21, 2009
Richmond Va