Redoing the driveway

awesome

Equipment
B2601, BH70, K54-22-06B
Sep 16, 2018
ottawa
New project starting today
PXL_20230722_140302306.jpg

I was tired of blowing gravel all over the place in winter so i'm going with recycled asphalt.
I borrowed a box scraper from a guy nearby. It's my first time using one of those.

The plan is to scrape it all, move it in a pile in the backyard. Then I'll get about 36tons (2 x 12 wheelers) of recycled asphalt.

The gravel looks way nicer and is very effective at draining water so I'm kinda bumed out that it's just not workable in the winter.

I'll have to grade everything perfectly so water doesn't pool (non issue with gravel) and I hope it's not gonna be as messy as stone dust on the front door inside carpet.

Reactions: 1 users

fried1765

Equipment
Kubota L48 TLB, Ford 1920 FEL, Ford 8N, SCAG Liberty Z, Gravely Pro.
Nov 14, 2019
Eastham, Ma
New project starting today
View attachment 107808
I was tired of blowing gravel all over the place in winter so i'm going with recycled asphalt.
I borrowed a box scraper from a guy nearby. It's my first time using one of those.

The plan is to scrape it all, move it in a pile in the backyard. Then I'll get about 36tons (2 x 12 wheelers) of recycled asphalt.

The gravel looks way nicer and is very effective at draining water so I'm kinda bumed out that it's just not workable in the winter.

I'll have to grade everything perfectly so water doesn't pool (non issue with gravel) and I hope it's not gonna be as messy as stone dust on the front door inside carpet.
After the Summer sun bakes on your recycled asphalt for some months, you will have what will look like an actual asphalt driveway.
I think you will be very happy.

Reactions: 1 user

The Evil Twin

Equipment
L2501, LA526,
Jul 19, 2022
Virginia
Perfect time of year to do it! I'm actually getting close to performing this same project myself. Just trying to plan timing with all the other stuff going on this summer.

Russell King

Equipment