New backhoe bucket for the BX25D

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
I wanted to buy a new bucket to do trenching work with my Bx25d - so looking at bxpanded site I saw the perfect 6" bucket. In the past I have order 3 different things for them and they have always been a pleasure to work with. Their products are outstanding too.

AS it has been posted here, their wait time was...... excessive to say the least. Yes I understand covid and all of it's ramifications, but hell I am a school teacher and we have found ways to "teach" along with this virus (not overly well I will add) - but I get it. After contacting them and actually talking to a human several times I decided that spending my money day one and waiting 6-10 weeks or more was not what I wanted to do. SO I said wth - I will build my own. Now I can weld, and have before, but it is always better to get the "pro" to do it - my youngest is a certified welder as is the AG teacher.

I used my CAD package and drew up plans (yes - I cheated - I tried to copy the Bxpanded bucket) and I got some metal from the AG department next door in my shop. Plasma arc cut the two sides and I grinded it smooth - actually had to get someone else to cut and cnc the bearing holes for me - and even found on Amazon a company that had brass bushings that would fit perfectly around the standard kubota hoe pins. Total cost of metal cnc and bushings..... $28 bucks.

the parts.........

1608045364636.png 2020-10-07 14.23.23.jpg 2020-10-07 15.03.52.jpg 2020-10-07 15.13.21.jpg 2020-11-25 12.16.30.jpg 2020-11-25 12.17.15.jpg 2020-11-25 12.22.30.jpg 2020-11-25 12.22.38.jpg 2020-11-25 12.47.02.jpg 2020-10-07 14.23.23.jpg

Below you can see the video of it moving..........

SO................. after completing ........... I realized I made 4 mistakes, some I caught early and one that I need help fixing!