My first Orange Tractor, complete with a clutch problem

chetcromer

Equipment
1981 Kubota B7100 4WD
I picked up my first Kubota yesterday, a 1981 B7100 4WD with a loader and finish mower... exactly the setup I have been hunting for over 6 months to take care of our 3 acres, horses, and garden. Got the whole thing for $4200, complete with a clutch problem I was told had been estimated at $300 in repairs, labor and parts.

Needless to say, $300 might cover it with free labor, but nothing close to what I'll need to take it to a dealer. Parts alone are going to be around $275, and that's after shopping around.

The guy I've bought the tractor from is being helpful. He wants to make it right. He's offered to send one of his own guys over to my place to split the tractor and replace the clutch disk, pressure plate, and release bearing for $100 - he says it will only take a few hours.

So yeah, I'm second guessing the guy a little. From what I've read this is at least a day-long project, and while I've read of plenty doing it on their own, it seems like having some experience splitting the tractor, replacing the clutch components, and putting everything back together again is important.

How might I go about increasing my level of comfort here? I certainly don't want to leave the hands of this new-to-me tractor in the hands of someone who is biting off more than they can chew and a little over-confident, but then again, maybe this is all run-of-the-mill work for him... Any suggestions?

hodge

Lifetime Member

Equipment
John Deere 790 John Deere 310 backhoe Bobcat 743
Nov 19, 2010
Love, VA
Welcome to OTT!
Do you have any friends who are mechanically savy? They could help you through the decision process- without knowing the guy that is being sent over, there is no way that we could advise you one way or the other.