Kubota tiller not spinning

red347lx

May 6, 2018
US
First of all I am a tractor newby..baught a house that came with a Kubota b2150 with tiller, blade and mower deck.
Tried hooking up the tiller today and I am having issues with it.
All hooked up correctly, but the PTO doesn't drive the tines . It engages the rear spline on the tiller but just sounds like it is grinding. Unhook the pto and I can spin the tines which does spin the pto shaft on the tiller. Any ideas what I am doing wrong? Thanks and be kind, I am new to the whole tractor lifestyle...Nate

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

red347lx

May 6, 2018
US
Also, with the tiller raised, I can spin the tines without the driveshaft spinning. That doesn't seem right to me...

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
So the PTO on the tractor will spin but the tines don't, look for a shear pin on the unit.
besides that your looking at a repair of something that has broken.

To get better answers, pictures and/or tiller model #'s really help. ;)

red347lx

May 6, 2018
US
BL60c is the tiller model #
The PTO works fine with or without the tiller attached.
The gearbox shaft on the top of the tiller spins when the pto is engaged which I believe means something isn't right in the gearbox itself...
Are parts available for these still?

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas
Are you sure you didn't break a shear bolt? That's usually the most common issue for why the tines aren't spinning.

Edit: Never mind, I see that was already a suggestion. Having technical difficulties with my tablet :eek:

Daren Todd

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Massey Ferguson 1825E, Kubota Z121S, Box blade, Rotary Cutter
May 18, 2014
Vilonia, Arkansas