Hydraulic leak through breather

Derby

Equipment
L2850DT
Jul 28, 2016
Fowler, IN
Recently purchased an L2850DT. It has less than 1600 hours. I used the front end loader some (no real heavy loads) and the 3-point hitch quite a bit. There had been no leaks until last week. Then I noticed a significant amount of hydraulic oil at the back of the tractor (below the seat).

I checked and found the breather tube was badly deteriorated. I did not know what it was but it was obviously in need of replacement. When I operated any hydraulic, the fluid squirted from the place where the tube had been attached.

Took what was left of the tube to a dealer and ordered a replacement. Today I installed it. I ran the bucket and the 3-point hitch a little and saw no new fluid. I left the tractor for a few minutes and when I returned there was a small amount of fluid coming out of the new breather tube.

I am not a mechanic for any type of engine, least of all a diesel engine. I cannot find a dipstick for the hydraulic fluid. Is there one?

What is the likely cause of the leak?

Bulldog

Equipment
M 9000 DTC, L 3000 DT
Mar 30, 2010
Rocky Face, Georgia
My L 3000 did that. I replaced the breather tube with a piece of fuel line and run it down under the floor. If it blows anything out now it either lubes the underside of the tractor or hits the ground.

Leak is normally just vapor.

If it had a dip stick it most likely will be on the back next to the pto. It may just simply have a site glass on the side of the tranny. Look left side about mid case rear of the clutch pedal.

Tooljunkie

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L1501,home built carry all, mini plow blade.
May 13, 2014
Lac Du Bonnet, Manitoba,Canada
Checking fluid level would be first thing.
May be worth finding manuals for your machine.
I cant direct you, perhaps someone will chime in.

My little L1501 was dumping oil from the shifter when it got hot, my vent was plugged. Cleared it and hasnt leaked a drop since.

Last edited: