First Tractor (L3130) - Leaking axle seal (front) + beginner questions.

hendr1x

Equipment
L3130
Jan 21, 2021
New England, US
Hello everyone,
Well...after 5 years of saving and over a year of looking I just picked up an early model L3130...literally got it a home less than an hour ago. The guy said it was a 2000...looks like they didn't start making them until 2003 so who knows. 4x4, 8 speed, LA723 Loader, BH90 Backhoe, 2000 hours got a great deal on it.

To only major issue I am aware of is the front tire/ rim has a bunch of oil on the inside...I assume there is some seal that went. Honestly, no idea what I'm doing for this. I'm hoping there is some way I can top off / measure the oil level and deal with during the spring. Any of you know how I should handle it? I've been working on cars for a couple decades so I'm not worried but are there repair manuals for this thing? How about maintenance schedules...are those able to be found?

Last thing, the head lamps are broken (shattered), and I'm sure there are gonna be more small things I need to replace. I'm also interested in bigger stuff like adding a thumb, and a mid PTO/snowblower. How does parts ordering work with tractors? How can I get part numbers? Is it possible to shop around/get better pricing? I assume there is not much after market / used parts available in the tractor world.

Thank so much for your help guys.

Dave_eng

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M7040, Nuffield 465
Oct 6, 2012
Williamstown Ontario Canada
Hello everyone,
Well...after 5 years of saving and over a year of looking I just picked up an early model L3130...literally got it a home less than an hour ago. The guy said it was a 2000...looks like they didn't start making them until 2003 so who knows. 4x4, 8 speed, LA723 Loader, BH90 Backhoe, 2000 hours got a great deal on it.