correct snowblower operational sequence

asgard

Equipment
B2301, 60 inch deck, 51inch blower
Oct 22, 2016
Ontario, Canada
I thought I would ask those with experience operating the front mounted snow blowers what the best operational sequence was.

I am new to the front mounted units previously using an Allied 72 inch rear mounted unit, which in comparison to the Kubota unit was battleship quality.

I ran the PTO all the time and had it set to auto disconnect when lifted near bind height.

With the front unit, is there a bind height. When blowing do you engage the unit and then move back and forward leaving the unit running when lifted or do you slow the PTO speed, disengage the PTO lift the blower and back up. I ask this because I have a very wide area and start by doing a couple of long runs, then go back and forth, currently I am slowing, disconnecting backing up and re-engaging - but that is taking way longer than my previous rear mounted which mostly ran when only slightly lifted.

So, what are the thought of the experienced operators?

Hoping I can speed this process up a bit, maybe too cautious and now after the PTO shaft fiasco a bit gun shy.

rjwa749

Equipment
L3940 Grand w/frt snowblower
Nov 27, 2010
Cle Elum
No bind height that I am aware of. I have 6 years on my L3940 w/blower and it is great. The Kubota blower only raises to about 6".

I run float mode a lot which has caused an issue with the float bracket. Just replaced it and the new part is twice as beefy. Kudos to Kubota for the upgrade.

I plow/blow forward and then lift and back up and repeat. Never a problem and I don't slow rpm while backing. I run it between 2,000 and 2,500 rpm mostly unless I need a bit more and then I'll hand-throttle in for a short period to a bit higher rpm.

Hope this helps.

Last edited:

07wingnut

Lifetime Member
Feb 13, 2016
Clearwater, BC, CA