Buying tools

RyanS

Equipment
Kubota B2601, Massey 65, Sunstar 18.
Apr 10, 2016
Liberty Center, In
I am thinking of purchasing a Mig, tig and plasma cutter all at once. I have several projects I need the tools to do properly. I am a reasonably talented welder/fabricator do you think a person could earn enough with those tools to pay for them? I was thinking If I built a land leveler/plane I could build 5 at the same time and sell 4. The same with a 55 gallon sprayer ect ect. My wife will have a fit at me spending another 4 grand on top of buying a tractor and all its toys. If I can use these tools to pay for themselves quickly it would not be so bad and a much easier sell to my wife (the money boss).

Thoughts?

Thanks

Dr Honda

Equipment
BX1870
Mar 30, 2015
Pitt, PA
Anything is possible... but if you have a "Day Job"... that's a lot of work to try to pay for your tools.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
If you have the time to spend working on this - I would say go for it, however- most of the stuff you are talking about would not need the TIG - unless you are doing some thin metal(s). A mig/PC would be the best two of three in my opinion. Get a couple of pieces built and sold with more on the way, then invest as time/ideas allow.

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
Depends on your goals. If you want a tig/mig/plasma cutter and are trying to justify it with your wife...you're deceiving her by telling her how you are going to fabricate items and earn back the funds you spent.

Buy a Mig and a chop saw and make one for yourself. Then you know how much time and material and space you have invested. Then you can determine honestly how to proceed.

You don't need a Tig or Plasma cutter to build the implements you mentioned.

RyanS

Equipment
Kubota B2601, Massey 65, Sunstar 18.