1st tractor

Gary

Equipment
L2800 HST 4x4,la 463 loader ,Woods Hc 60" rotary cutter,60" tuffline 60 box blade
Oct 17, 2009
Arkansas
I just got my first tractor. L2800 HST 4x4 with la 463 loader. I am new to tractors in general so I have a few questions. How steep is to steep to be going up? Pucker factor is not all that reassuring. I read the owners manual and did not see what degree would be max.

When adding weight to the box blade how much weight should be added? I can get 2 inch thick steel. I don't want to get to much weight and make learning how to use this any harder than it already is.

Any advice for a new orange tractor owner is appreciated.
Good site with allot of information.

Theekillerbee

Jun 28, 2009
Pleasant View UT, USA
Sounds like that will be a good machine for you. Going up and down hills is usually not much of a problem. You can really get them pretty steep, however side hilling is where the real pucker factor is at. I've not had the opportunity (knock on wood) to tip one over just yet, but I've been on some hills where the proverbial skid marks were left behind!

eserv

Equipment
BX24, A1000 Kubota Generator
May 27, 2009
Hardisty, Alberta
thekillerbee is right! your tractor will almost climb the side of a barn! sidehills are a different story though! specially when, like you, there is a loader. keep that bucket low if you are on any amount of slope. As for weights, put enough on to do the job but it IS a small tractor 200lbs should be enough back there. Do you have fluid in your rear tires?
Ed

Theekillerbee

Jun 28, 2009
Pleasant View UT, USA