Sprayer using ballast box

Semi-Retired Grant

Equipment
2016 BX 2670, HD 55 front blower, 4 ft Bully tiller, loader and 60 inch mower
Aug 8, 2024
PEI Canada
Hello Everyone. I have been using OTT for many years…so thanks.
I made up this ballast box sprayer yesterday and it works nice so I thought I’ll register for an account this morning and contribute back to the group.
It’s not really in a finished state.
I bought the pump from Vevor for around 80 CAD.
I may hook it up to its own battery. Right now just used a power pack. It will blow fuse on the 12 V accessory plug.
Sincerely,
Grant

Attachments

Reactions: 4 users

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Brother,

If it works - it is golden!!!!!!

Making it look pretty will not improve the flow! ;)

Set yourself up with a "separate" fuse box or relay BACK to the battery and hook some large gauge wire up to it - 15 amp fuse and it will work well.

Reactions: 1 user

The Evil Twin

Equipment
L2501, LA526,
Jul 19, 2022
Virginia
I love dual purpose accessories!
2nd to the Hokies recommendation. Run a 10 ga wire to the battery and mount a rear fuse block. It will come in handy for the pump, lights, spreader, etc.

WI_Hedgehog

Equipment
BX2370 (impliment details in Profile-About)
Apr 24, 2024
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, U.S.A.
I like the idea also--I cleaned out the ballast box after getting it (so it's easier to move around by hand given how hard it is to get on/off a stock BX) and now that I have "stuff" to carry on the back of the tractor the box is a bit less useful...until your idea! That's awesome!!!

I hope the D-I-Y discussion branches out to equipment selection....

Semi-Retired Grant

Equipment
Aug 8, 2024
PEI Canada