Brush hogging

Rdbota

Equipment
l3560
Jun 10, 2020
Va
Just picked up a new l3560hstc and 1860 brush hog. Was doing some cutting yesterday and hit a stump and it stalled the tractor. At first I didn't know what had happened. I was mowing at the reccomended 540 rpm range. I'm kinda new to the tractor scene but I thought for sure there was some type of safety clutch or shear bolt to prevent this from happening as it can't be good for the tractor.

Bmyers

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Grand L3560 with LA805 loader, EA 55" Wicked Grapple, SBX72 BB, LP 1272 mower
May 27, 2019
Southern Illinois
I believe the 1860 has slip clutch on the mower (I have the 1272). Did you/dealer slip the clutch (adjust) before using it? The clutch has to be properly set before you use it to cause it to slip.

PS-welcome to the forums.

Rdbota

Equipment
l3560
Jun 10, 2020
Va
No I haven't adjusted anything. I guess I assumed everything was done at the dealer. Guess I need to look at the book. Was to late to mess with lastnite. Didn't appear to have hurt anything. I just wouldn't think it would be good for the pto.

Bmyers

Lifetime Member

Equipment
May 27, 2019
Southern Illinois
No I haven't adjusted anything. I guess I assumed everything was done at the dealer. Guess I need to look at the book. Was to late to mess with lastnite. Didn't appear to have hurt anything. I just wouldn't think it would be good for the pto.
I have killed mine a few times like that, even with it adjusted. No issues. The slip clutch will need to be adjusted after the mower has set for an extended period of time. I adjusted mine at the start of each mowing season and since I mow about every week with it, I don't worry about adjusting it again till the following Spring.

The process of adjusting is simple, accessing the bolts is a pain in the butt.

Rdbota

Equipment
l3560
Jun 10, 2020
Va