First 50 Hour Checkup

searay

Equipment
L3200, GMC Yukon, rotary cutter, pallet forks, box blade, post hole digger.
Dec 28, 2010
Courtice, Ontario, Canada
I'm a tractor newbie, I bought my first tractor in the spring (L3200), and I now have almost 50 hours on it. It will soon be time for me to take it into the dealership that I purchased it from. Does anyone have any idea what this service will set me back? Is there any additional service I should have done at this time? After this service I would like to do my own service, perhaps this is wishful thinking since I don't even change the oil in my F150 or my wife's Accord. Where is the best place to purchase a service manual from or is Kubota the only source? I suspect most members are American and I'm in southern Ontario (Canada) I would hazard to guess that shop rates might be slightly higher here. Shop rate at my local Ford dealership is about $95.00 per hour. Thanks!

fuzzydawg

Equipment
L3400 HST
Oct 11, 2011
Bluffton, MO
I just did the 50 hour service on my L3400, and there's nothing that a do-it-yourself guy couldn't handle. Get your filters and fluids from a Kubota dealer, and just plan to spend an afternoon draining fluids and replacing filters. Everything is pretty easy to get to. The toughest part was finding ALL the drain plugs - I've got the HST model and it seems like there were drains everywhere.

Have fun!

GWD

Equipment
M7040, L48 TLB, BX2200
Jan 8, 2010
Northern California
You won't need a workshop manual (WSM) for routine service.

Your owner's manual that came with the tractor should have photos of the drain plugs and filters necessary to complete the 50 hour maintenance.

There should also be a chart in the manual to indicate all of the 50 hour chores.

TripleR

Equipment
BX2200, BX2660, L5740 HSTC, M8540HDC and some other tractors and equipment
Sep 16, 2011
SE Missouri
Maybe it's just me, but I am not paying a few hundred bucks to have someone do something I can on my own.

Wildfire

Equipment