B7100 HST problems (another one)

Mogs84

Equipment
B7100 HST
Jul 23, 2019
Wales -UK
Hi All,
New member here from Wales in the UK.

Please bare with me on this one as I am new to hydrostatics, very mechanically minded, just new to HST stuff.

I bought an old '83 (I think) B7100 HST 4x4 from family, they had bought it about 2-3 years ago, used it for an hour and set it aside until they had time to fix it, they experienced the same problems as I and in the end bought a newer machine so that I could have this one.

My problems are as follows:

When I first bought it there was an issue with the trans where it would drive normally for a while, if a little loud (all my comments about running, stopping, noises, vibrations etc are aimed at the trans as the engine is near perfect) it would drive ok with revs down low, but as soon as you were on high revs it would just stop and the F/R pedal would do nothing, no noises no nothing, was like as if you weren't touching it.

You would then need to lower the revs to get it to move again, and the trans was very loud and quite often it was very jerky and was giving a lot of vibration back through the pedal, sometimes even fighting against you, then its a case of repeat the process etc.
A visual inspection through the oil filler hole showed a lot of frothing of the oil so......

I drained down the oil and found it to be full of what seemed to be ATF fluid? I took a small clean sample of it and bottled it in a clean clear bottle, fluid was red in colour and when shaken would hold a lot of air in suspension.