Front snow blower on a new BX2380

Old fart

Equipment
BX2380
Mar 10, 2019
Elk, Wa.
I’m new to the tractor world. At some point, before next winter, I want to install a front snowblower on the new BX. I keep hearing about the need for “subframes” when installing these things. Can someone bring me up to speed on these things and if I will need one for the installation of a BX2816.?.

atitus

Equipment
BX1880+FEL,MMM,Blower
Feb 11, 2019
Worcester, MA
The part referred to as subframe is really a hydraulic quick hitch. You have to remove the loader. This is the biggest drawback for most folks because they want to keep the loader on. The quick hitch attaches to the front of the tractor, and a long pto shaft connects from the quick hitch to your mid pto. Then you just drive up to the snow blower, pick it up, and lock the pins in place.

This video explains it all:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdUeA5eodrc

Old fart

Equipment
BX2380
Mar 10, 2019
Elk, Wa.
The part referred to as subframe is really a hydraulic quick hitch. You have to remove the loader. This is the biggest drawback for most folks because they want to keep the loader on. The quick hitch attaches to the front of the tractor, and a long pto shaft connects from the quick hitch to your mid pto. Then you just drive up to the snow blower, pick it up, and lock the pins in place.

This video explains it all:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdUeA5eodrc
Thanks! That helps a lot........

tiktock

Jun 27, 2018
Plaistow
Others have said it but yes...you need the front quick hitch mount. This is what the snowblower actually mates to and I believe the hydraulic snow blade uses the exact same front quick hitch mount.

Its super easy once you do it once. I recently took my snowblower off my 1880 and put the loader on in less than 10 minutes and could reverse the process in less than 10, as well.

tiktock

Jun 27, 2018
Plaistow
I agree with tiktok its very straightforward process. The hitch is obnoxiously heavy though.