4wd issue - Drive Shaft connection to U-Joint

captainluc

Equipment
B7200 HST-D
Feb 7, 2015
Detroit, Michigan
Hi All,

I am new with my recent purchase of a B7200 HST-D a couple months back. While using my tractor in snow and getting stuck, I realized my 4wd wasn't working. I noticed the drive shaft was engaging by the transmission but it was not engaging at the front axle. I pulled off the cover protecting the u-joint, connecting the drive shaft to the front axle. I notice the drive shaft splines were making no connection with the U-joint. It seems like the U-joint has lost its threading and the drive shaft can spin freely without engaging the U-joint. I have attached a picture for your reference. I am not very technical and not sure how to fix this. Do I need a new U-joint?

I dread going to the dealer in the area as they seem reluctant to do any work on this machine since it is older.

Thanks in advance for any help or advise!

Attachments

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Hi All,

I am new with my recent purchase of a B7200 HST-D a couple months back. While using my tractor in snow and getting stuck, I realized my 4wd wasn't working. I noticed the drive shaft was engaging by the transmission but it was not engaging at the front axle. I pulled off the cover protecting the u-joint, connecting the drive shaft to the front axle. I notice the drive shaft splines were making no connection with the U-joint. It seems like the U-joint has lost its threading and the drive shaft can spin freely without engaging the U-joint. I have attached a picture for your reference. I am not very technical and not sure how to fix this. Do I need a new U-joint?

I dread going to the dealer in the area as they seem reluctant to do any work on this machine since it is older.

Thanks in advance for any help or advise!