Kubota L1500/L175 fuel tank removal

jl.green

Equipment
Kubota L1500
Oct 3, 2013
Chipley, FL
Hello. I'm new to the country life and tractor ownership. I recently aquired a L1500 in very good shape (except the steering box). I'm going to fix the steering box, but I need to take off the steering wheel, revome the dash, and finally remove the fuel tank before I can start work. If anyone has any suggestions or instructions they would be greatly appreciated. Also, is there a trick to pulling off the steering wheel? I've removed the nut and washer. I've used a gear puller and even wrapped the base of the steering wheel with a chain for grip. Nothing. That thing wont budge. I'm about to cut the steering shaft just below the steering wheel since I have to replace the steering shaft anyway. Thanks for reading this and hopefully someone out there has had the same questions.

85Hokie

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX-25D ,PTB. Under Armor, '90&'92-B7100HST's, '06 BX1850 FEL
Jul 13, 2013
Bedford - VA
Hello. I'm new to the country life and tractor ownership. I recently aquired a L1500 in very good shape (except the steering box). I'm going to fix the steering box, but I need to take off the steering wheel, revome the dash, and finally remove the fuel tank before I can start work. If anyone has any suggestions or instructions they would be greatly appreciated. Also, is there a trick to pulling off the steering wheel? I've removed the nut and washer. I've used a gear puller and even wrapped the base of the steering wheel with a chain for grip. Nothing. That thing wont budge. I'm about to cut the steering shaft just below the steering wheel since I have to replace the steering shaft anyway. Thanks for reading this and hopefully someone out there has had the same questions.
Lots of ways to skin that CAT, even if you cut the shaft - still gotta get the wheel off.