B7100: Newbie Replace Head Gasket?

klipto

Equipment
B7100
Jul 26, 2014
Seattle, WA
Hello OTT,

I recently acquired a well used B7100 (~1650 hours) with FEL for a reasonable price. I promptly replaced all fluids and filters and used the tractor for a week or so before I realized the clutch was going. I split the tractor and replaced the clutch / throwout bearing, etc. Felt pretty good about myself once I got the tractor back together, it turned over, and the clutch engaged on a small incline (something it did not do before)! The drivetrain works great now.

However, I am getting a lot of white steam at idle and even more at higher rpm. I just checked and there are bubbles in the radiator: pretty sure it is a blown head gasket (hope not a cracked head). Further I am pretty sure I bought it with this issue---like the title says, I am a newbie. I am chalking this one up to a learning experience...

How long should I budget to (i) remove the head, (ii) replace the gasket, and (iii) reassemble and adjust the valves? (Anything else I am missing?)

I have never done this type of work before---replacing the clutch took me about 3 weeks off and on (work and family keep me from spending more than a few hours at a time on the tractor). A good portion of that time was spent reading these forums.

Thanks for your help.

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
"How long should I budget to (i) remove the head, (ii) replace the gasket, and (iii) reassemble and adjust the valves? (Anything else I am missing?)"

Based on your last paragraph budget 3 weeks. Family won't be upset, you won't be stressed to work on it and if you get done sooner---that's a bonus!

It's all based on time available to you and your experience. Some would have it off and at the machine shop in 3 hours. However, they have done it before, have all the correct tools, even some air wrenches, and know the procedure.

klipto

Equipment