Zd21 diesel not cranking and wire melting

mojoman1963

Equipment
kubota L2850
Nov 29, 2019
Vandergift Pa 15690
I have a Kubota zd21 diesel 60 inch zero turn. What is happening is the starter doest always engage. Sounds like the solenoid is bad it will spin but not engage the starter. Then sometimes it will very shortly engage then spin freely. The other issue is if it does crank I noticed a wire melting coming up from the starter then it slowly cranks over like the battery is dead. I have a brand new fully charged battery. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
Kind of a long shot, and I have no direct knowledge of your machine, however I have seen in the past on car engines occasionally if the starter spins but only "sometimes" catchs the flywheel, there could be missing teeth. (on the flywheel)

I'm unsure on how to check for missing teeth on your machine though.

The more likely cause is some sort of connection/ground problem I would bet.

For the slow/intermittent cranking I would start off by cleaning all grounds and closely inspecting battery/wiring connections. You would be surprised at how many time this fixes starting problems. (y)

Last edited:

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
step one..get the wiring diagram located in the WSM !

now.... how old is it ? IS there ANY corrosion on either battery cables ?

'wire melting' is due to excessive current,usually caused by poor connections. All 'melted' wires have been compromised, to replace them.

GeoHorn

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4700DT, LA1002FEL, Ferguson5-8B Compactor-Roller, 10KDumpTrailer, RTV-X900
May 18, 2018
Texas
It sounds/reads to me of an internally-shorted starter. Replace the starter AND the damaged wiring.

Reactions: 1 users

Ktrim

Equipment