Key question/concerns

RazorL3200

Equipment
L3200, 525 loader, 5' cutter
Oct 1, 2012
Figsboro, Va
Ok, I'm new to this and this question may already have been covered. If it has, just post the link. I recently purchased a L3200 and I learned from the dealer that anyone that has a L series Kubota can use their key on my tractor. And sure enough, I have a friend with a L and his key starts my tractor. I'm not comfortable with that. I know I can't be the first to address this issue. What options are out there? Replace ignition switch? Some sort of ground disconnect? Any help will be Appreciated. Thanks

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
I think you will find that that key will fit most every brand of tractor out there I know my BX key works on a JD. SO unless your in a high crime area or have some friends that you are just a bit leary of I wouldnt worry But you could put a switch known to only you in the igination line to cut off power or a batter disconnect switch or a really pissedoffpitbull chained to the seat,,,lol,, But really there is any number of way you can do things to disable your tractor,, tis truely a shame that we have to worry about things like this today

bosshogg

Equipment
2004 L3400F w/ FEL
Aug 16, 2012
Hartford, SD, USA
Most heavy construction equipment is similarly keyed. Probably could swap out the ignition switch with an old salvaged car ignition switch. Most thieves can bypass the ignition pretty easily on a tractor that has wiring/starter easily accessible I would imagine.

UWAdventurer

Equipment
Kubota L3400 w/FEL & Woods 7500 backhoe
May 24, 2011
Coatesville, IN
I was worried about the key issue when I got my first tractor also. I think it i a honor among fellow owners situation. I don't think about it any more, nothing you can do except keep it locked up in a barn, or install a kill switch as mentioned above.