HVAC help......ughhhh

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
Ok fellas, my AC went out a few days ago.

No big deal since it's fall here, but I do want to/will replace it soon.

Since the system is ~24 years old, I want to replace the furnace too as a 'matched set".

I have decided to take it on myself, but I have a few questions on furnaces.

I already bought a Goodman 3 ton AC unit, A coil with case, a new "line set" and pad.

I want to order a furnace but I'm having some difficulty figuring out which to get.

For "simplicity sake" I would like to replace it with a unit as similar as possible.

SO,

I have an 80% unit that I presume is a "single speed blower". (I think)

Since I have never done this before, I would like to keep things 'simple and reliable".

But all the sites that I look on, they only have "variable speed", or "9 speed" or "multi speed".....Are there are no "single speed" models made anymore?

This are the 2 the units I was looking at.

https://hvacdirect.com/80-000-btu-8...-stage-goodman-gas-furnace-gm9s800804bn1.html

https://hvacdirect.com/80-000-btu-8...s-furnace-upflow-horizontal-gm9s800803bn.html

I don't understand the difference between "9 speed" and "multi speed" ?

Bmyers

Lifetime Member

Equipment
Grand L3560 with LA805 loader, EA 55" Wicked Grapple, SBX72 BB, LP 1272 mower
May 27, 2019
Southern Illinois
I think I can help with the 9 speed verses variable speed.

Differences:
  • Cost, 9 speed usually cheaper on purchase
  • Operation, variable speed is cheaper in operation cost (more efficient)
Both will work, it just depends on what your priority is, lower cost up front or more efficient and cheaper operation.

Add additional,