Help with cutting edge

sgtboz

Equipment
Kubota L3800/L3940, BH77/BH90 Backhoes, www.bozhog.com
Sep 11, 2015
Oklahoma City, OK
www.bozhog.com
Hey guys, I have a job coming up next Friday where I really need to stop putting off my bucket cutting edge replacement. I really need some specific advice but unfortunately I can't afford a Piranha bar right now. There's not much cutting edge left on this worn out 66" bucket.

In the pictures, the bucket is lying on its back with the cutting edge pointed to the sky. I just took pics a few minutes ago in the dark.

Whether I get bolt on or weld on, do I have to cut off the current cutting edge? The weld on edges are pretty cheap on Amazon. I'm a decent amateur welder but nothing to brag about. Bolt on seems tougher just from having to drill all those holes in thick steel.

Here are a few pics.

Roughly what the cutting edge used to look like:

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

Tooljunkie

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L1501,home built carry all, mini plow blade.
May 13, 2014
Lac Du Bonnet, Manitoba,Canada
Re: Need help w cutting edge

I bolted one on.made by same outfit that makes cutting edges for caterpillar up here. Drilling old cutting edge was no big deal, after bolting new edge, i cut excess bolt threads off and welded bolt to nut.
Now the new edge is 5/8" thick below bucket so a little different technique for operating. I just welded a couple plates to vertical sides to bring sides out to cutting edge.
Woked fine.

sgtboz

Equipment
Sep 11, 2015
Oklahoma City, OK
www.bozhog.com

Thanks, junkie. I guess I was getting hung up on having to remove current cutting edge which would take forever. I suppose an extra half inch of steel below the current cutting edge wouldn't be the worst thing ever. The extra 40lbs for the new edge would just be subtracted from overall lift capacity.

Sent from my SM-N920T using Tapatalk

sgtboz

Equipment
Sep 11, 2015
Oklahoma City, OK
www.bozhog.com