Freezing loader cables

rayc

Equipment
kubota L4310 hstc
Apr 26, 2011
prince township , ontario, canada
Hi all, what does one do when your loader cables freeze up? Any tricks? Im thinking of putting 12v heat tracer on the cables right to the control valve and insulating them. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks ray

Kubota_Man

Equipment
BX24, Rear blade, Front blade, Snowblower, 54" MMM, Box scraper, Landscape rake
Dec 25, 2010
Kellogg, Idaho
Are you talking about the hydraulic lines? If so from what I understand it would have to get very cold something like -30°

check out this thread http://www.orangetractortalks.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5760&highlight=backhoe+storage

I am not an expert by any means but if your lines froze you may have other issues like contamination in the hydro system.

If you do attempt to thaw them out I would be cautious with the lines by not weakining or melting them.

E/S

Equipment
2009 M8540HDC 4x4 w/ Cab
Jan 6, 2010
Reno, NV
I would try cable lub from the cab down through the line.
If that doesn't work the pull the cable and inspect it for problems.

E/S

rayc

Equipment
kubota L4310 hstc
Apr 26, 2011
prince township , ontario, canada
okay how do you pull the cables, remove the joystick and pull them out or do you have to disconnect things from the valve, sorry new to cable systems. My old skidder was all direct linkages. ray

skeets

Equipment
BX 2360 /B2601
Oct 2, 2009
SW Pa
Cable lub works, but I have use plain old tranny fluid on every bike I ever had those cable take a lot of abuse it aint pretty it aint clean but it is cheap and works,,, however if the cable is hanging up after you have lubed them I would pull the cable in question and check for a fraied inner cable or a crushed or deformed outer jacket and check where the outer jacket is attached sometimes them buggers will slip back and forth at the retaining clip

E/S

Equipment
2009 M8540HDC 4x4 w/ Cab
Jan 6, 2010
Reno, NV