Pin clearance?

Workerbee

Equipment
Zd21
Mar 1, 2020
MN
I need to replace a couple bushings on a dozer. The originals are 1.965” diameter and need to be torched out as they will not come with 20 tons of pressure.
Now I can get new replacements for $480/pr at the same specs, or can get some that are quite close but the diameter is 1.961 for $185/pr.
Quality is equal, (same mfgr) what would you do? Will .004 extra clearance on a 2” pin cause issues?

Daferris

Equipment
LX2610
Nov 23, 2021
Mid-Michigan
Back years ago when I was a machinist in the stamping press repair trade. The standard was .001 inch per inch of diameter. I would think that (I am assuming these are pins for the tracks). with a an extra .004" of slop they will wear quite fast as grit ect will have more room to enter the joints. They also will be pretty sloppy,

Reactions: 1 user

Daferris

Equipment
LX2610
Nov 23, 2021
Mid-Michigan
Theyre the pins for the angle cylinders on the blade
In that case it will still be a " sloppy joint" but since you only would have a pin at each end the cumulative effect of the extra play would not be as bad. Given the price difference it's probably worth a try. I would grease them more often than normal just for the attempt to help keep grit out of the joint.

Workerbee

Equipment
Zd21
Mar 1, 2020
MN
They get greased daily, but the machine doesnt get babied. It pushes a lot of stumps and levels rocky ground. Will the .004 take out bushings a lot faster or wear out the frame holes? I cant really see the frame holes being an issue, as like I said, we cant even push the old pins out. Theres nothing rusty there, its like the pins grew, or were assembled with a press.

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
re: No. It's a dozer, not a Swiss watch.