Rear Main seal Leak - L4240

PumpkinHill

Equipment
L4240
Jun 11, 2017
Williston, VT
I'm new to tractors and recently bought a used L4240 with 1000 hours. Last week, I noticed motor oil leaking from the split pin plug on the clutch housing, an obvious indicator of a rear main leak. I think it lost a few ounces after a hard running session. Since then it has been a slight drip durning moderate efforts. I haven't needed to add any oil.

Some of my friends say fix it right away and other guys tell me to keep running it indefinitely just watch the oil. Any thoughts? Clearly, replacing the seal is a major financial cost and a driveshaft is even greater.

Thx

Ken

200mph

Equipment
L4740-3 Cab, FEL, Fnt Snow Blower L2185, LP Finish Mower, LP Rotary Mower
Mar 3, 2017
PA
Are you certain it is motor oil and not hydraulic fluid?

There are a number of post dealing with leakage from this plug on Lxx40's. Some posts have great pictures to reference and you can get a sense of what is involved to fix.

Delmar

Equipment
G1900 / Kubota BX
Sep 24, 2015
Bluegrass State
If it is your rear main seal and you are looking to get by until you can do a better fix, you might consider adding stop leak to your crank case. I've used Blue Devil Rear Main Seal Stop Leak in the past and was impressed. I had a leak that sounded about like what you describe. Added the stop leak; ran for 30 minutes or so and the leak was gone. Seemed like magic at the time!

I'm not suggesting this as a permanent fix, but it sure worked nicely for me for many months.

kubotasam

Equipment
B2410, B7100dt, B7500,Woods BH750,Landpride 2660RFM, Tiller, B2781 Snowblower
Apr 26, 2010
Alfred Maine