B2601 hill mowing advice

silverfinch

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B2601
Oct 16, 2018
Cornish, NH
I've been mowing 11 acres of wild field for many years using an ATV with a tow-behind rough cut mower. These mowers don't last and don't do a great job. So, we finally decided to buy a tractor. I have a B2601 with a 48" mower ordered (should be ready in a week or so). I'm excited but I have almost no experience using a tractor and I still need to mow the field.

Most of the field is not an issue, but there are a few parts that are uneven and/or steep. With the ATV, I haven't had to worry too much about tipping. For hills, I'd make sure I was going slow straight up/down (just down for the steepest areas).

I know tractors are different and probably more likely to tip. I plan to take it easy. Since I'm so new to using a tractor, I going to focus on the easy parts of the field first, then perhaps chip away at the trickier areas; maybe even skip them entirely if I'm just not comfortable. With the ATV I would often stand up on slopes, but I know that's not possible in a tractor. So, I think I'm going to feel the angles more sitting in a tractor.

I read the B2601 manual and it mentioned backing up when mowing on hills. That surprised me since it's practically the opposite of what I'd do in the ATV (I couldn't even go in reverse much since that mower was prone to jackknifing).

The dealer is putting beet juice in the tires. Also, the FEL is on and I assume I'll want to keep that somewhat down to help with stability.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any advice for hill mowing.

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2360, FEL, MMM, BX2750D snowblower. 1953 Minneapolis Moline ZAU
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY
I mow some steep spots with my BX.

I take the FEL off for mowing. Tractor is much more stable with it off.

Also, many here use spacers to widen the rear wheelbase.

jgregory2010

Equipment
B2301
Mar 14, 2018
Granville, OH