How many of you . . .

jryser

Jun 7, 2017
Plainfield
Have a secret key switch on your tractors?

Theft isn’t huge where I live but it happens. I have chains in the tires but am wondering if installing a secret key kill switch isn’t a bad idea, or am I just being paranoid?

Thanks for all thoughts and comments!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JeepinMaxx

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2660, LA243 FEL, RCK54P-23BX MMM, BX2751 QH Subframe, BX2750D 50" Blower
Mar 27, 2018
Columbia, CT
I'm fairly new to tractors - but my neighbor and fellow Kubota guy told me to stop leaving the key in the ignition when leaving it in the yard and prop it up on the bucket so it isn't easy to move!

edritchey

Lifetime Member

Equipment
A bunch of cute little Kubotas
Jul 19, 2014
Wellsville, PA
If you drive all the back our lane you will be greeted by a few big dogs who just can't wait for you to get out of your vehicle LOL I doubt you will be thinking about where any of the equipment key are. :D

thepumpguysc

Aug 8, 2018
Sunny South Carolina
Interesting thread..
YES.. taking the KEYS OUT makes a huge difference..lol
Chains can be cut, especially NOW w/ all the battery powered cutters.. "usetabe" ya had to be a brute to snap a chain w/ bolt cutters.. NOW any tweeker w/a Dewalt can steel yer stuff..
One of the best deterents is a "battery disconnect".. or a 12v disconnect to the injection pump solenoid..
The solenoid switch might not STOP'M but it'll slow'm down.. ANY "good thief" knows ya gotta power the solenoid to make it run.. so they probably have jumper wires w/ um.
I had a buddy who ran his shut off switch thru his cig. lighter.. push it in to "go" & out to disconnect..
You could also do THAT for an electric fuel pump.. It would "start" for the thief, but they wouldn't get far w/o fuel feeding the inj. pump.. it would run off the filters & when they were dry, it would shut off..

bearbait

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3560, 64" snowblower, 72" back blade
Dec 9, 2011