Pinion bearing replacement on Kubota L35

FarmerDave60

Feb 22, 2020
East Lynn, WV
I removed pinion shaft and bearings, installed new pinion and bearings along with existing collars/shims. Once everything put back in housing there isn’t enough room to install the sir clip. How do I resolve this issue?

200mph

Equipment
L4740-3 Cab, FEL, Fnt Snow Blower L2185, LP Finish Mower, LP Rotary Mower
Mar 3, 2017
PA
Probably need different thickness shims since you have new pinion and bearings. I think they have 4 or 5 different shims available. (Assuming you're talking about the front axle, since it wasn't mentioned in your original post)

FarmerDave60

Feb 22, 2020
East Lynn, WV
The pinion is the same one it is the front housing pinion shaft I thought I could install new bearings and use same shims but that’s not the case can you preload bearings and install all at once or separate I’m just learning I got it out okay thanks to this site and thanks for reply

GeoHorn

Lifetime Member

Equipment
M4700DT, LA1002FEL, Ferguson5-8B Compactor-Roller, 10KDumpTrailer, RTV-X900
May 18, 2018
Texas
I probably shouldn’t post in this thread as I have no L35 or experience or parts diagram to rely upon.... but one of the specialties I was trained on as a young Toyota Tech was differentials... and one of the tedious issues was pinion-gear-to-ring-gear preloads and measurements.

The pinion gear depth determines where the gear teeth interface the ring gear. That is controlled by shims, crush-sleeves, pinion bearing depth, or all three. Many pinions have an identifier on the big-end engraved so that when replacement time comes a pinion with identical depth measures is used. Other designs rely upon those shims and crush-sleeves.

If you replaced the old pinion with a new one of unknown dimension then you’ll have to go thru all the trouble the OEM had to determine at original mfr. This will likely require different shims and/or torque-values (if a crush-sleeve is used.)