M9000 fuel delivery problems

Kabo

Jan 28, 2015
Ky
Hi! I'm new to kubota tractors and the site. Just purchased a used m9000 with 1500 hours about a month ago. It has left me stranded in the field twice already, I'm stumped. The first time it would idle but had no throttle, and eventually sputtered out and died. So we changed the fuel filter and bled the lines and still no start. After bleeding the lines several times it eventually started and ran like new for about 30 min. then would die again. This happened about 3 times. Finally had it running good and ran for about a week, then same thing all over again while hauling out hay. Also the fuel gauge is not working, and I just replaced the sending unit. This kubota is not off to a good start. Any suggestions are appreciated. There is no smoke from the exhaust while cranking, and fuel solenoid is operating properly

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Check the cap for proper venting, check all fuel lines including the lage tank cross over line.
Start at the tank and verify by removing hoses and filters and such that you get good constant fuel flow all the way to the Injection pump.

To get into it any deeper I need to know the exact model, this is one that different models have different equipment.

Kabo

Jan 28, 2015
Ky
It's a 2003 m9000 with cab and 4wd. I've tried blowing out the vent hoses and starting with fuel cap off. I was wondering if the lift pump could be going out, is there a way to test the pump?

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Is there a way to test the pump?
Yep, just pull the out line off and crank it should push fuel out, if it want to free flow out just add a section of hose to get it above the tanks. ;)

Kabo

Jan 28, 2015
Ky