L175 PTO Failure and Fix

BigJim59

Equipment
Kubota L175
Sep 20, 2017
Leonard, TX
I thought I would start this thread to cover my L175 PTO failure and subsequent fix. The tear down is going well. I have pulled the steering wheel, dash board, the fuel tank. I was a motorcycle mechanic back in my college days and the old adage was "if you have to ride the bike the tank will be dry and if you have to pull the tank it will be full." My Kubota tank was full. Lifting it over the steering shaft was a real chore.

I was able to pull the shift fork plate by driving a very sharp putty knife between the gasket edge. I remembered the warning posted here and didn't beat on it with a hammer.

After getting the shifter and the shift fork plate out of the way I was able to see clearly. What didn't make a lot of sense in the book makes perfect sense when looking right at it. The first and fifth gear on the input shaft also drives the PTO and the teeth are stripped off it. Plus there are three or four teeth in first gear that are messed up as well.

I have been using the tractor for over 14 years. First and Fifth have always whined but it seems that the sound has gotten louder over the last year. It's hard to tell because it really is a noisy tractor.

Last edited:

RCW

Lifetime Member

Equipment
BX2360, FEL, MMM, BX2750D snowblower. 1953 Minneapolis Moline ZAU
Apr 28, 2013
Chenango County, NY
Jim - this is great stuff, and as much as I'm appreciative of it, there might be many guys in the future looking to do a similar fix.

Take many pictures, and post them with your progress!

This is all learning for me, and will help many more down the road!

Thanks again, and best wishes!

BigJim59

Equipment
Kubota L175
Sep 20, 2017
Leonard, TX