unable to force Regen on Kubota l3901 w/ backhoe attachment. Engine light on w/p3008 code.

mastertechbrad

Premium Member

Equipment
Kubota L3901, BH77 backhoe. LA 525 loader.
May 8, 2024
Elsberry, MO.
Warning beep always beeping. No Regen lamp on. Turn off PTO but engine shuts down when exiting seat. Inspected camshaft position sensor and connector, npf. Any advise? Thinking something to do with backhoe because unable to lower 3 point hitch?

mastertechbrad

Premium Member

Equipment
May 8, 2024
Elsberry, MO.
scope the sensor 🤷‍♂️

kubota codes don’t always correlate with standard auto codes, so not sure if it is cam sensor code. Is it gear drive or hst? Is the backhoe on it or not? Is this one problem or 3 problems?
Thanks for your reply Fordtech86. I am a retired Ford tech myself. It is hst. Code in WSM states= Excessive PM5. Backhoe is on it! Instructions for forcing Regen include lower 3 point hitch. and shuttle lever in neutral? PTO off.

Fordtech86

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3200
Aug 7, 2018
Pineville,LA
Im not 100% sure on this, but I think a pm5 level requires a forced regen with kubota computer or maybe replacement of the dpf. 3pt should be down anyways with backhoe on, but I don’t know why it would care for parked regen besides safety reasons(and how can you tell if the arms ain’t on it, there is no pressure pushing the 3pt down)

Last edited:

MapleLeafFarmer

Equipment
Lots incl. B and L kubotas
Dec 2, 2019
E.
my books say on the l3901 if beeping every second and the engine warning light is light constantly (not flashing) you be at warning level 4 which is the L's highest warning level that I know of.

Means engine is de-rated to 50%.

Solution is for an immediate cease use of the tractor as damage to DPF occurs if continued use is acute. Requires Kubota to Diagmaster the tractor and either do a Diagmaster forced regen or a physical DPF clean.