Repairing ruts in clay mud?

fc1

Equipment
L3940
Apr 17, 2024
Michigan
So, I'm new at this, and learning, and I've made a mess of my side yard running my tractor in the rain. Deep clay, turns to mud, run the tractor, make some ruts. I've had some luck backdragging with the bucket to smooth my mess, but I wonder if there are better ways?

Obviously, avoiding the issue to start is a superior option but I'm not certain it will always be available, so I could use some pointers in how to smooth out my rutted mess.

Thanks in advance!

D2Cat

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L305DT, B7100HST, TG1860, TG1860D, L4240
Mar 27, 2014
40 miles south of Kansas City
If you drive the tractor in the rutted area and make any depth of rut you just have to wait until it dries up some. No options. Weight in mud creates ruts. You need no rain and a strong wind!!

Reactions: 1 users

jaxs

Equipment
B1750HST
Jun 22, 2023
Texas
An ounce of prevention is better than a pound of cure,. stay to he** off the yard with your tractor when it's wet. After things dry out import friable soil and use a box blade to smooth everything out. BACK DRAG! What makes you think you can do what you see operators with years of experience doing? Box blades are the best tool for greenhorns to level dirt.

Last edited:
  • Wow
Reactions: 1 user

GreensvilleJay

Equipment
BX23-S,57 A-C D-14,58 A-C D-14, 57 A-C D-14,tiller,cults,Millcreek 25G spreader,
Apr 2, 2019
Greensville,Ontario,Canada
In the 'long term'.
... turn the clay into 'earth' and then a lawn. Yes, this will take time but you'll end up with a lawn that' you can drive on.

johnjk

Lifetime Member

Equipment
B3200 w/loader, Woods RC5 brush hog, 4' box blade, tooth bar, B1700 MMM,
Apr 13, 2017
West Mansfield, OH