New B7100HSD Owner - A Few Questions

dwczerr

Equipment
B7100
Aug 10, 2009
Charlotte, NC
Hello everyone, I'm new to OTT and a new owner of a B7100HSD, with 4wd and hydrostatic transmission. I believe the machine to be an '86 model. I purchased the machine from a local dealer who was selling it (and 2 others) as a favor to a large plant nursery who is a customer of theirs. The good news is that it seems to run and operate fine and starts right up with just a hint a black smoke that quickly fades, and the price at $850(!). The downside includes poor cosmetic shape (expected), the seat is trashed, hour meter broken (assume high hours), and no implements or hitch arms were included. I've cleaned the machine with a pressure steam cleaner and driven it just a little bit.

I have a few questions for you experts out there:

What baseline maintenance should I perform? I'm thinking flush the coolant system, the hydro fluid and filters, and the air cleaner. The dealer did change the engine oil/filter just before the sale. Anything else?

The machine is leaking / seeping a little diesel fuel in the area of the fuel filter and injection pump, but I can't tell exactly where it's coming from......is there a common cause of this?

Lastly the machine at times will not shut off when I pull the throttle lever back all the way. It acts like it wants to shut off, but it manages to keep going. Any thoughts?

I will try to post some pics as well. Thanks in advance! David

Theekillerbee

Jun 28, 2009
Pleasant View UT, USA
Change the fluids you have suggested, adding to that the front diff, as well as the front wheel gear housings. Both use 80W-90 gear lube. You should also clean the hydraulic/tranny fluid screen. My 8200 has that on the drivers side just below the fwd/rev pedal. This simply is cleaned with parts cleaner and allowed to dry before you put it back in. Be careful not the crush the screen, or strip the thread out on the bold that holds it in place.