Land Pride grooming mower drive belt flipping over

srmaximo

Equipment
Kubota B2601, Land Pride FDR1660 Grooming Mower
Sep 2, 2024
Redmond, WA
I'm a musician who grew up in the suburbs, married to a woman with farming fantasies, just to set expectations of our technical abilities.

This past spring we bought a Land Pride FDR1660 grooming mower to mow our acre of uneven lawn and pasture. We hit a large rock which bent the bolt and broke the washer that attaches one of the cutting blades, and the belt smoked and came off.

We've since replaced the bolt/washer, but we're having trouble tightening the belt enough. We have the spring take-up bolt maxed out, and also hooked the spring into the second link of the chain, but it still seems a little loose.

Also, the V-belt at least partially flips over as it runs, so that the V-side of the belt is no longer nested in the v-shaped pulley surface.

The pulleys all seem to be aligned, i.e. all the same height, so I don't think any got knocked out of whack.

And ideas? Do I just need a new belt?

VaGlock

Equipment
B2601 FEL - BH
Jun 28, 2020
Central Va.
Once a belt flips, it will continue to flip, it will need to be replaced. There are cords inside the belt that get stretched and this causes the continuous flipping.

Reactions: 1 users

Flintknapper

Premium Member

Equipment
L2350DT
May 3, 2022
Deep East Texas
Once a belt flips, it will continue to flip, it will need to be replaced. There are cords inside the belt that get stretched and this causes the continuous flipping.

^^^^^

This. Belt was strained somewhere along the way and will have a permanent 'set' causing it to twist. Replace....as advised above.

Russell King

Equipment
L185F, Modern Ag Competitor 4’ shredder, Rhino tiller, rear dirt scoop
Jun 17, 2012
Austin, Texas