Land Pride BB1266 anomaly

AndyD

Equipment
Kubota L3901
Jul 2, 2024
Idaho
I got this box scraper new a few years ago. Have used it quite a bit for spreading gravel and "finishing" snow as I plow the driveway. I've never been that impressed with scraping down high spots when grading out flat areas in existing soil. I've never used a box scraper before this, so I just chalked it up to it being more of a material spreading implement, but it always bugged me the way the blades were configured because it seemed like the front blade could have been set up differently and made the implement so much better.

Recently, I got sick of the poor grading performance for the 20th time, so I looked in the manual again to reassure myself that there is no adjustment in the blades. I happened to find a diagram that showed the front and back blades having an equal (but opposite) angle, and an equal depth below the sides of the box. Image search of other BB1266s shows the same thing the manual diagram shows.

On my scraper, the front blade protrudes below the box sides by 1/8" at the most. So there is no top link setting that allows the front blade to dig into the ground like it should. The blade itself is not so worn away to have caused this. The bottom edge is not dinged up or "road sharpened" in any way, and the bolts appear pretty much centered in the blade. The other thing is that the angle of the front blade is way different than the back blade. I could see this helping with the different jobs of each blade, but the front blade would have to be set a lot lower. And again, the manual and image search shows the angles the same and both blades protruding well below the box sides.