L47 TLB Skid Plate Options

RichardT

Equipment
L47
Jul 3, 2023
Sullivan County, NY
Hi. I'm new to the tractor world and just recently purchased an L47 TLB.

It was equipped with the TL1310 hydraulic front quick disconnect feature, which turns out to be a huge mistake for my application of running the tractor in woods with boulders...essentially like a skidder. The hydraulic brains for this add-on is bolted to the bottom of the tractor (now the lowest point), and comes with a tiny L-shaped skid plate to protect it from ferns and tall grass. I have less than 18 HRs on my tractor, and have already damaged it pretty good TWICE. Super frustrating as the base tractor undercarriage looks robust, and this factory or dealership-installed Kubota-branded accessory is janky at best.

Question to you folks....
1. Is there a good place to permanently relocate all the hydraulics of this accessory away from the undercarriage? See pics to help explain.
2. In hindsight, I never should have got this accessory. Seems simple enough to just get out of cab to turn 2 levers to change implements. Any harm with just removing it all?
3. Anyone have a skid plate fabbed up to help with this? Any suggestions? For my application, seems like 1/2" steel plate, simply bolted to frame should help a lot.

Look forward to anyone's input!

Thanks

Attachments

Runs With Scissors

Equipment
L2501 TLB , Grappel, Brush Hog, Box Blade, Ballast box, Forks, Tiller, PH digger
Jan 25, 2023
Michigan
It looks like you have raised it up already which I think will help.

Here is a 1st draft of what popped into my head looking at your pics.

The black circle is that transverse tube in your 1st pic and the green is some sort of heavy duty/custom exhaust clamp.

The red would be steel plate (maybe 3/8 to 1/2?) and the front would bolt to that transvers bar in fore front of pic 1 (after you drilled a hole of course)