Hydraulic Fluid Level & leaking grappler L2502

KrisA

Equipment
Kubota L2502, Grappler, Fork Lyft, Skid Loader, Brusch Hog, Tiller, Box Blade
May 1, 2024
Tellico Plains TN
Hi, everyone. I want to start by saying I am brand new to a tractor. So if my questions are a bit stupid I apologize in advance.

I have a grappler, and I was cleaning out some brush when I suddenly noticed something coming out from the front of the tractor. I thought it was smoke, but it wasn't. I had hydraulic fluid spraying all over the place. I then suddenly lost the ability to back up or go forward. Yep, low on fluid. I realized it only sprayed fluid when I pressed the button to close the grappler. and it appears to be coming from the hoses on the actual grappler. I'm unsure if it's the hose or a loose fitting.

What are your thoughts here, and how can I figure this out? What should I do? Should I just try to tighten the bolts, reconnect, and look for spraying, or is there a better way?

I shut off the tractor, put in some hydraulic fluid, and got it going again to park it. The dipstick is between my legs. The issue I am having is that the hydraulic fluid appears to be clear, so I am having a heck of a time seeing where it is filled. In addition, there is no Hot/cold marking or anything that says Hot/Cold. I assume the first line is cold. Is that correct? And is there a better, easier way to see if it's correctly filled?

North Idaho Wolfman

Staff member
Lifetime Member

Equipment
L3450DT-GST, Woods FEL, B7100 HSD, FEL, 60" SB, 743 Bobcat with V2203, and more
Jun 9, 2013
Sandpoint, ID
Please... it's a Grapple not Grappler ;)
This is not meant as an insult or an assault on your or your person, it's just a verbage thing.
This is a grappler, you don't have one of those attached to your loader do you? :ROFLMAO:

No hot or cold on the dipstick it's a high and low mark, Hydraulic fluid does not change volume with heat.