Difficulty changing gear range on MX5400 HST

lawdog

Equipment
mx5400
Jun 14, 2024
PA
I am new to tractors and recently purchased a used MX5400 HST (90 hours). It seems difficult to change the gear range. The manual indicates that you are not to force it into gear and that you might have to drive a little to change the position of the gears. It just seems like it takes a number of tries to change the gear range. Is this normal? Any tips? Thanks in advance

mikester

Equipment
M59 TLB
Oct 21, 2017
Canada
www.divergentstuff.ca
Try clutching in when shifting ranges. Like any gear set if the gears are loaded it's harder to shift. Try reversing directions a little bit to unload the gears.

Smokeydog

Equipment
M59, B26 grapples, backhoes, tillers, graders, diesel atv
Jun 2, 2020
knoxville, Tennessee
When I bought the Kubota M59 HST it had 1100hrs and a couple of rough previous owners. The range lever was bent and didn’t align with the shift marks and hard to change ranges. Straightened lever and over time with clutch, brake, gentle pressure over enough time it become easier and quicker to change ranges. Frequently have to shift between medium and high. Love the “plus” high/low shifter for each range.
The Kubota B26 bought used with only 50hrs had similar experience. It has no foot clutch. Hold the brake to shift ranges. Believe the manual says it can take up to a minute. It too has gotten easier to shift with use. Agree with Mikester that sometimes use the HST pedal to relieve drivetrain tension to improve range shifting. Gentle pressure and patience helps.

ajschnitzelbank

Lifetime Member

Equipment
L4701, BH92, Frost Bite grapple, Logosol M8 mill, Stihl MS661
Aug 24, 2021
Rensselaer County NY